2012 Board Elections

UPDATE 5: Early voting daily totals are now available.

UPDATE 4: SAC AAUP votes to endorse Ramiro Nava.

UPDATE 3: In District 5, the only items on the ballot are the 2012 City of SA Bond Program and District 5 Alamo Community College District Trustee. According to the Bexar County Elections web site, here are the dates for early voting:

April 30, 2012      Early Voting STARTS

May 8, 2012         Early Voting ENDS

May 12, 2012       Joint Election Day

UPDATE 2: Yvonne Katz has filed for District 7 and Gene Sprague has filed for District 6. Both of these applicants will run unopposed. But Roberto Zárate has a challenger in District 5: Ramiro Nava. The Ranger has posted their applications online. Here is Mr. Nava’s biographical info.

UPDATE: Blakely Fernandez is NOT running for Board re-election. She is backing Yvonne Katz, former Spring Branch ISD superintendent and president of Vision Into Action Associates. Katz has filed.

Three Board of Trustee positions are up for grabs on May 12 in the following districts:

  • District 5 – Roberto Zárate
  • District 6 – Gene Sprague
  • District 7 – Blakely Fernandez

Who represents you? Here’s a map outlining all the districts. Here’s a closeup of District 5 (click to make larger):

Read more from The Ranger article on the duties of Board members.

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s